B – Books

Posted: 28 April 2005 in A-Z, writing
Tags: ,

B

Books. Our entire dining room is lined floor to ceiling with books. Someday, I’d like to have a whole room devoted just to books. There are old ones that my family has taken to giving me in recent years, a German cookbook dating from the 1600s, a yellowed and ancient Jack and Jill. They sit, not together, sandwiched against tattered Stephen King novels and hardback picture books from all over the world. I don’t have a system, other than to keep books of similar topics near each other. But even then, it’s not unusual for Narnia to have slipped into the bedroom one night and lesbian erotica to rest sideways on Pilates on the Ball. I don’t always put them in upright or even with their spines showing. My books echo my interests (of course), my desires, my dreams, my family. One year my sister gave me a book of the most misunderstood song lyrics. Something I’d never have bought and have never read. I feel slightly guilty about it every time I move and put it back on the shelf. I don’t know why I don’t give it away, probably because I can’t bear to see one of my books abandoned. I mourn parts of the collection (Yes, I refer to it like that. But only in my head, never out loud, I promise.) that have gotten away over the years. It’s not many, I guard them all jealously. My ex walked away with a handful of poorly written lesbian fiction, a book of antique postcards, the latest in the Harry Potter series, and some dismal true crime hardcovers she had brought into the relationship. A move from Brazil to Africa resulted in the loss of my father’s childhood copy of Just So Stories passed to him by his uncle. Five years later I still search for it in every box, I don’t know how it could have been left behind. For birthdays and holidays I ask for copies of books I’ve always wanted, that my mother read to me, that have pretty covers. I read voraciously. I read them repeatedly. It’s a passion. It’s a craving.
The nine I most want right now:
Nothing Ever Happens on my Block
Coin Locker Babies
One Thousand Places to See Before You Die
A Thousand Years Over a Hot Stove
Home Comforts: The Art and Science of Keeping House
The next in The Marketplace series
Fat Girl
The next Harry Potter
In The Company of Cheerful Ladies


Leave a Reply

