NaNoWriMo

Posted: 10 November 2005 in writing
Tags:

No. It isn’t nonsense. Well, not in the traditional sense. If you’ve searched the term and ended up here, you probably already know what I’ve gotten myself into. A 50,000 word novel in one month. It isn’t as easy as it seems, dear reader. If you think of it in bits and pieces, it doesn’t seem so bad. After all, most folks who like to write even a little can drop 1667 words in a day without even thinking twice. I myself plague my long-suffering wife with that many words in emails each day. But try doing it every day. Even on Friday nights and weekends. I think it might be more impossible than it sounds.

I attempted to participate in NaNoWriMo last year when I was working shift work. But I had to write the entire text longhand (no connectivity or data transfer means in the intel world, my friends) and I gave up after 20 cursive pages or so. I didn’t have the drive or the plot. This year I’m still short on plot but have considerably more motivation. After all, how are D. and I supposed to get rich if neither us writes a bestselling something? The responsibility weighs on me. It does.

You can read an exerpt on the site – code name meridith. Just remember what I said about plot.

Leave a Reply

