Sticker Collecting

Posted: 15 October 2007 in other folks
Tags:

When I was in second grade, I had a stunning sticker collection.  I used to take parts of my collections, the parts suitable for trading, to school in order to swap with my friends.  I had nowhere near the glorious collections that Shannon and Janet had, my two closet friends at the time, but I strived to someday reach their greatness.  Bear with me, dear reader, we’re going somewhere with this. 

One day, Janet stopped collecting stickers.  Shannon still had a growing collection, of course, but she also had a new best friend.  Someone who was not. me.  I found myself walking to school alone (do people let their seven year olds walk four blocks to school alone anymore?) and quickly taking up a new hobby and with it, new friends.  I’m amazed to see that it’s much the same way today.  I’m a grown-up, I’m married, I have lots of friends, but a few close ones – two, in particular, live nearby.  But all of a sudden, they’ve stopped collecting stickers.  Or rather, they’ve started collecting something I haven’t even discovered yet and I realize, it’s time to find new friends.

It’s disheartening.  I truly liked spending time with them.  But we suddenly have different priorities, different worries, we’re seemingly all of a sudden too different to get along.  Maybe it won’t last forever and maybe it will, but in the meantime, I suppose I’ll have to find a new hobby and new friends to go with it.

Bonus points if you, too, are looking for new friends.

Comments
  1. Rachael says:

    I hear ya! My friends are all getting married, and their new hobby is their new hubby (or wife, which is worse). We just don’t have anything in common anymore. At least until they’ve been married about a year, with no kids. Then they want to be friends again. It’s annoying.

  2. backlist says:

    Seriously. There should be a friend replacement program so that you can get new folks to sub in til the old ones have come back around!

Leave a Reply

