Travelling

Posted: 12 November 2007 in joy, triptastic

In no time at all, we’ll be driving from our home state to my sister’s some 1500 miles away.  We’re planning to do this in late November, through your northernmost states, with a 65 pound dog with attention deficit disorder.  We haven’t determined whether or not this is foolish ($3.00 gas, anyone?) or logical (plane tickets and kennel costs, anyone?) but regardless, we’re going to do it.

I’m excited actually, since the last time I drove across the country I was some age ending with -teen.  I feel like I’m more invested in the concept of a road trip now than I was in my parent’s motor-home armed with books, Oreos and a pillow.  What buffalo?!  I’m sleeping!!  We’ll take four days to get out and five to get back.  That should give me plenty to write about, assuming I haven’t lost my mind from the final projects I’ll be neglecting.

Bonus points if you, too, are going to hell and gone for Thanksgiving.

Comments
  1. rye says:

    That sounds like a lot of fun. I haven’t driven across the country since I was three (and I only remember through the stories my family likes to retell every possible chance they get!). Hope you are able to enjoy it and take lots of pictures – oh, and write about it, of course!

  2. linaria says:

    It does sound like a lot of fun. I’ve only been on such trips once or twice (and only a few states) when I was a kid…for the last ten years I’ve lived my whole life in this little corner of New England.

    (Dare I ask *which* northernmost states?)

Leave a Reply

