Lawn Carcasses

Posted: 15 December 2007 in bitter old woman, DC, other folks

Yesterday on my drive home I noticed one, then two then dozens (!) of colorful parachutes on roofs, lawns and draped over fences.  My first thought was that brilliantly dressed small people had parachuted out of the sky.  It wasn’t until the fourth sighting of such a madcap landing that I realized what I was looking at.  One home in particular has an inflatable snowman perched on the roof of a breakfast room every year.  As far as tacky decorations go, I don’t mind it so much because it’s on the roof and doesn’t move.  You know, the inflatable snowglobes that frenetically blow snow?  Or an entire front yard packed with huge santas and snowmen, creepily moving with the breeze?  The snowman at that house was deflated and slumped politely on the roof.

My drive home was like an inflatable holiday decoration massacre.  Almost every lawn had red and white flattened santas, brown squished reindeer and weirdly lumped passive globes.  I don’t think I realized that they weren’t just perpetually plugged in, generating tackiness 24 hours a day.  I think I was overseas when this puffy santa craze started.  It seemed like it was all twinkling white lights the year I left and then I came back to white wire reindeer and blowing snow globes.  Usually, I operate on a “to each his own” attitude, but in this case.  In the case of tiny, multi-colored parachuters, I have to say, seriously?

Comments
  1. rye says:

    Haha, I thought the same thing last year! I was walking dogs for people that had a HUGE blow-up Grinch. It really freaked me out during the day when it was strewn across the lawn. I don’t get it, really.

  2. backlist says:

    oh dear – a grinch?! What were they thinking???

Leave a Reply

