Fridge Art

Posted: 20 December 2007 in school, therapy

I imagine that your mom put your art on the refrigerator when you were five.  All of your drawings of houses, families, dragons and princesses.  Someone probably also put your good papers up with a magnet.  Maybe a plastic alphabet piece.  Maybe a little black and red Mickey Mouse.  Maybe it was your grandmother.  She cooed with delight over your the papers with bright red As on them. 

Or maybe you had a mother like mine.  We had recipes on the fridge.  Shopping lists.  Sometimes birthday wishlists.  In later years, there were our school pictures.  But usually, there was nothing there.  Sticky fingerprints, maybe.  Granted, I wasn’t an outstanding student.  C average most of the time.  I improved marginally in college finally getting something in the 3. range for a GPA.  But getting there involved spectacularly failing French and sleeping through most of the classes I aced.  By that time, you aren’t concerned with having your pictures or grades on the refrigerator.  It’s a fading memory. 

Today I sent home a note to my mother with a quote from my professor noting what an outstanding librarian I’d make.  It’s the most rewarding compliment I’ve had in ages.  And in my third semester, I still have a 4.0 all earned taking classes full-time and working 40+ hours a week.  I know I’m an adult.  And I know that no one cares about a 4.0.  But I actually did something refrigerator worthy.  Consider this my virtual magnet.

Comments
  1. rye says:

    I care about a 4.0! Congratulations, you rock! 🙂 I would put your virtual magnet on my virtual refrigerator … if I had one.

    I think when you’re in school as a kid, you’re just there because you have to be – that’s your “job.” When you go to school because you WANT to go to school, that’s a whole different experience. Good for you for being able to balance all of that craziness!

  2. linaria says:

    A 4.0 means so much more for people who are grown-ups with jobs, partners, pets, kids, houses, etc. People expect young people to be able to do well in school–they’ve got nothing else they really have to do. But grown-ups are expected to be good at their jobs, good at being husbands/wives/partners/parents, good neighbors–but good students? That’s a significant accomplishment.

  3. bipolarlawyercook says:

    Hey, I think that’s awesome. Good for you. Buy yourself some champagne!

Leave a Reply

