Happy December 26th

Posted: 25 December 2007 in other folks

Well, we made it.  I know you were waiting with bated breath to see if my stress tips would work, and I can say with certainty that they did.  We substituted the doughnuts (closed) for the dog park by way of indulgence and created an emergency escape plan which we activated immediately after dinner.  And, here I am, in the peace of the hotel room, with a sleepy, snoring puppy.  It’s a wonderful end to the holiday.

I’ll spare you the details of the day but I will speculate on the crowning moment.  I’m not sure whether it was when my brother-in-law picked up a roll and plopped it onto my plate with his grimy-even-on-the-cleanest-of-days hand or an hour before dinner when the keyboard was playing a waltz at top volume, one child was screaming about pooping in the potty, the tv was cheering and no fewer than three Christmas decorations were singing Jingle Bells at the top of their lungs and I looked over at the couch to see my grandfather-in-law with his shirt pulled up, plunging a needle into his stomach in the middle of the living room racket.  No, I’m afraid I can’t identify just one moment.

As my father says, Christmas only comes once a year.

Comments
  1. dylan says:

    Thank god for small miracles. Glad we both survived mostly unscathed.

  2. bipolarlawyercook says:

    Well, at least you didn’t get a “C’mere, and help grandpa with his medication!”

    Glad you survived, hope you don’t have to travel today.

  3. rye says:

    At least your uncles didn’t get drunk playing “beer pong” and strip down to their skivvies for some good ol’ fashion Christmas hot-tubbing. (I’m helping you “play the hypothetical game” with an example from my typical family gathering.) hehe

  4. backlist says:

    now that is a mental picture I didn’t need!

Leave a Reply

