The T in LBGTA

Posted: 2 January 2008 in queerlife

Seen on Tyra today*:

Two women sitting with two men, their boyfriends.  The two men have transitioned from women, one several years ago and one just “94 days ago.”  One woman said to Tyra, “Well, I would never be with a straight man, but he’s transgendered so it’s hot!”  The other women emphatically agreed with her.  Tyra seemed delighted to confirm that both women had known and had relationships with their boyfriends when they were women and considered themselves lesbians. 

If I were Josh or Chris, I’d want my girlfriend to consider me a male and enjoy being with me as a male.  Furthermore, it sort of detracted from Tyra’s attempt to render their relationships straight, mainstream and legitimate.  While I’m sure I could muster some outrage for this, I used up all my outrage for the month yesterday, when the dog barked me into deafness because I wouldn’t chase him around the room. 

* I don’t usually sit home watching Tyra.  Maybe I should.

Comments
  1. rye says:

    Hmm. I’m thinking I should watch more Tyra as well.

  2. dylan says:

    I have a few transguy friends and none of them want to be acknowledged as male. They have very positive transgender identities and many of them feel like being seen as heterosexual or male is the hardest part about their transition.

  3. backlist says:

    really? I think I should widen my social circle. that may well have been the case with these two – they didn’t seemed at all bothered by a statement that really got me.

Leave a Reply

