The Book Project

Posted: 5 January 2008 in the book project

A lovely new blog friend has created the Book Project and is sharing the books she reads in 2008 with the rest of us.  I’m looking forward to playing along because, to be perfectly frank, I read a tremendous amount of books most of you would never pick up.  I say this with no illusion of esteem.  I suspect you have far more sophisticated tastes than I do and I look forward to corrupting you. 

Meloukhia is writing about every book she reads.  She also promises to try to read every book you recommend but I make no such promises.  Though if you do suggest something and the stars and moon align properly, I may attempt it.  Things I read?  You’ll just have to wait and see.  Fair warning, in 2007 I read about a billion paperback romances for a class project.  They aren’t so bad if you like a straight bodice ripper and they may make a reappearance.  You’ve been warned. 

What I do promise:  the title and the reason I read it.  I can’t promise a summary since if I don’t like a book I don’t bother to finish.  In that case, I’m likely to…uh…offer my opinion also.  I’ll bet you can hardly wait. 

Comments
  1. dylan says:

    I need to get back into reading. I haven’t found something that really tickled my fancy since Palahniuk’s Lullaby, and that was a loooooong time ago.

  2. linaria says:

    It’s funny, I think graduating from college, along with working in a book-focused environment, both conspired to make me *not * want to read. Oversaturation or something. Now I mostly read nonfiction, of the DIY/gardening/social theory variety. Fiction just doesn’t interest me that much anymore. Maybe you’ll inspire me!

  3. backlist says:

    Lullaby sounds interesting. I’ll add it to my list!

    And Linaria, I absolutely can relate. I don’t think I’ve read much of anything that wasn’t assigned in the last year and before that, well, life was in the way. But I do love to read all sorts of things so maybe we’ll overlap somewhere.

  4. meloukhia says:

    If I’m a blogfriend, does that mean we get to hold blog sleepovers?

  5. backlist says:

    absolutely. fair warning though, I’m not a sleeper in-er!

Leave a Reply

