The Book Project: Adored

Posted: 13 January 2008 in the book project

What, Who, When: Adored by Tilly Bagshawe, published 2005

Why on Earth: My mother gave a one-a-day calendar last March (don’t even ask) with a book a day.  The calendar must have been conceived a few years ago, since none of the books dated past 2005.  I peeled off each page as the days passed, keeping a note when a particular title, description or author caught my fancy.  This was particularly useful when I needed to read a great many genre novels for a class last semester.  Adored had a catchy calendar description and so I checked the book out from the library.  It sounded like a trashy, light, end of the year read.

Well?:  The white cover homage to Danielle Steel should have tipped me off.  Adored was trashy in all the wrong ways.  Heavy on Hollywood glitz, short on clever writing or tight plot.  It reminded me of the phase I went through in high school when I devoured absolutely anything Judith Krantz wrote.  No, I don’t know what came over me.  I was also reading a lot of Holocaust literature, recipe books and folklore at the time.  I’ll spare you the description of a director’s daughter caught up in the worlds of modelling, acting, power and pain and the subtle undertones of incest.  Suffice to say that I resorted to speed reading in hopes of an upturn, but at 560 pages, I should have known better.  However, if you’re a fan of epic pop fiction, Adored is a predictable escapist read.

Leave a Reply

