Many, many showers.

Posted: 17 January 2008 in observations, other folks

I’m not sure what it is about me and people who shower.  Wait.  I didn’t mean it that way.  Really.  I like that D. showers.  She takes nice, normal showers.  A nice, normal, appropriate amount of showers.  Now, let’s be clear on something first – I was not born a shower-judger.  Rather, I seem to attract shower-ers. 

At girl scout camp, I thought I was an odd ten year old because I only wanted to take one shower a day.  As an adult, I realize many ten year old girls only shower a couple of times a week, especially when it’s summer and you’re swimming three times a day and the showers are ice cold.

A close friend in high school was a over shower-er.  A condition she admitted to but reconciled because of the need to maintain her pretty, pretty princess appearance. 

I thought I was done with these characters.  I thought it was me.  That is, until I got to college and learned that my roommate showered five or six times a day.  She also was the first person I knew who was dodging creditors, had drawers of department store make-up, a closet of designer, unworn clothes and slept with a bible open on her forehead.  She was certain that was the only way the lord would forgive her for sleeping with her boyfriend before marriage.

I have accepted that I am a magnet for showering fools and, indeed, another set have moved in next door.  After remaining empty for months, the mother, father and two little girls under three next door run the shower no less than seven times per day.  That’s when I’m home to hear them.  And I’m home, oh, maybe three waking hours a day.  At the most.  Who needs to shower that much?  Don’t these people understand the concept of water preservation?  I understand that babies are dirty, but they aren’t that dirty.  I know they aren’t that dirty.  Maybe they don’t diaper them, maybe they just toss the kids in the shower instead?  Maybe they don’t use the toilet?  Maybe they like the sound of gently pounding water?

Comments
  1. bipolarlawyercook says:

    I don’t know. I am too busy not understanding people who take only one shower, but it’s sooooo loooonnngggg it might as well be four or five showers. Oh, wait, did I just say that out loud?

  2. backlist says:

    you’re not kidding. sometimes I think it would be nice to just stand there forever, but in reality, it’s wet and standing around wet isn’t my idea of 30 minutes of a good time 6 times a day.

  3. Dylan says:

    I shower once a day. It’s usually a kind of long shower though, I like to reflect while I’m in there. Rock out to music. Sometimes twice if I am going out on an extra hot date or to a party where I know I’ll be too drunken the next day to want to shower then. I’ve never met anyone who showered five times tho in one day… five times… that’s insane. How do you have time for anything else?

  4. backlist says:

    My roommate had plenty of time to shop but not enough time to do anything else but shower and, presumably, commit sin with her boyfriend. She certainly didn’t eat or go to class.

Leave a Reply

