Is This Week Over Yet?

Posted: 18 January 2008 in therapy

I’ve had a terrifically terrible week.  But I’m that person.  I’m that person who, when she goes to write this thinks to herself, “Well, it wasn’t that bad really.  Lots of good things happened and, mostly, people were nice to me and nothing went wrong so what do I have to complain about?  In fact?  I should be grateful that my wife is wonderful and patient and I got a whole night warm under my blanket in my peaceful, quiet living room getting alone time I desperately need.  And the week is almost over after all.  What am I complaining about?”

Right.  You can imagine that living with me is a bundle of joy.  Because D. doesn’t just get to hear the happy ending.  She has to hear the whining first, and then the whining about the whining.  Fun times folks, fun times.  But I’ll be honest, I feel like I’m trying so very hard but still not succeeding.  Worse still, I feel like I’m not actually trying all that hard.  Worse still?  I feel like if I weren’t quite so lazy, I’d work harder and suceed more.  Nah, I’m not hard on myself. 

Points for being forgiving.

Comments
  1. rye says:

    I have the exact same dialog with myself at times. Points to YOU for being forgiving (of yourself:)).

  2. backlist says:

    oooh I love to get points!

  3. Will says:

    Oh, we could’ve always done better, we could’ve always been stronger when we needed, but no matter how true that is, sometimes we can’t, and that’s why we need our loved ones.

    Letting yourself off the hook is such a precarious balance. But necessary sometimes.

Leave a Reply

