Who’s Afraid of the Mattress Man?

Posted: 24 January 2008 in observations, school, therapy

It’s true.  I miss you.  And, I admit.  I’m only coming around now to complain.  But it’s because you’ve got such nice strong shoulders.  So good for crying on!  So sturdy!  But still so shapely! 

All things considered, I’m amazed I’m even breathing right now.  What with the exhaust filling the hotel room.  Who builds a hotel room immediately above a garage?  And then, who idles a truck inside of it?  And more importantly?  Why didn’t I ask for a different room when I checked in?  Because I thought I imagined the exhaust, that’s why.  Because it isn’t all that unusual in my world for me to smell exhaust.  Or pickles.  Or camels in heat and think, gee, I must be imagining that. 

And if that weren’t enough, it’s been all fun and games with self-criticism lately, which leaves me editing and trying to do silly things like define what to say.  Oh no, don’t worry, I’m not so delusional as to think I can find some sophisticated purpose in this, but it does explain why you haven’t seen my mushroom picture, or heard about my irrational fear of vivid memories or seen the latest Book Project post!  Self-editing made more fun by fear – tasty.

And then there’s the tiny issue of sleep.  And the lack of.  It could be our room (too bright, but why put up curtains when we might move.  Someday.)  It could be stress (a stack of homework before Tuesday?  It’s my last semester, aren’t I supposed to be able to coast?) But it’s probably our mattress (I bought it from the internet for $200 six years ago.)  My back hurts all the time and neither of us our sleeping since our every single move is amplified by the springs.  The cat steps on the bed?  We feel it.  She rolls over?  It’s like an earthquake.  Routinely, I wake up feeling like I slept on the cold, hard ground.

Bottom line?  I’m afraid of the mattress store.  I do not want to go and lie on mattresses, strange mattresses, while some smarmy salesman looks at me lie.  And then wants to sit me at a desk to do paperwork.  Like buying a car.  And then I have to get it home.  Which is how I got a $200 mattress from the internet six years ago to begin with.  I fear the mattress man. 

Points for helping me figure out how to get a mattress without going to a mattress store.

Comments
  1. Will says:

    Idea 1: Get a used mattress. Particularly useful in college neighborhoods, because someone’s always leaving to go somewhere for some reason. I bought my full-sized bed–frame, box spring, mattress and all–from a girl who graduated two years ago and moved out of town. We fished it out from the shed behind her house. Throw in a recliner (that I don’t even use) and it all cost $90. Cheap, and you’ve got the breaking-in taken care of, which may be either good or bad depending on your tastes.

    Idea 2: Don’t get a new mattress at all. If you don’t have one already, get one of those foam egg crate pads. Makes any mattress supremely comfy.

  2. bipolarlawyercook says:

    I think? you’re in the DC area, so these guys might deliver. http://www.mattress.com/ We ordered our current mattress online and have been really happy with it.

  3. backlist says:

    but it’s totally the mattress right? I mean, I can’t think of any other reaswon that my back would hurt every night night. I’m not *that* old. I always thought mattresses got more comfy as they got broken in so it stands to reason mine should be more wonderful not the spawn of satan but maybe it was just a bad mattress to begin with? Or maybe it’s all the bad karma my ex built up? But that’s another post…

  4. Linsey says:

    you should just go to Costco – we’re going there on Saturday to get one.

  5. backlist says:

    oooh I’d like to hear how that goes once you get it home.

Leave a Reply

