Flying

Posted: 3 February 2008 in joy

I wonder how you have flying dreams.  Do you flap your arms?  Just soar?  Float?  Me, I swim through the air, I’m an active flyer, definitely. 

I haven’t had a flying dream in five or ten years.  Usually I have them when I’m just about to be very stressed out (not that I don’t get stressed out quite a bit more frequently than that!)  It’s taken a couple of decades to figure that out and I’d say I’m a little late this time.  I think it’s part of why they are so memorable; like the eye of a hurricaine, I end up flying in the middle of dream packed with running, moving, doing, trying, working, rushing. 

Last night’s dream wasn’t much different, except it has been a long time since I’ve flown in a dream and my muscles felt out of practice.  I felt like I might not quite get off the ground a few times.  You see, I generally dive from the ground into the air and take a few deep pulls with my arms, kicking my legs together like a dolphin and trying to get just enough momentum to get truly airborne.  If it doesn’t work, I land and push off again.  Once I’m in the air, I need to periodically swim to keep up.  The air feels a lot like water to me, it has the same thick consistency and it bouys me in much the same way.  I’d sink if I stopped trying, but with just a little effort, I can stay up for a long time.  I’m not totally convinced I couldn’t do it in real life.

The rest of the dream was busy and unremarkable but for its dark tones, swampy setting and sinking houses.  Points for your own flight stories.

Comments
  1. rye says:

    You know, I don’t think I’ve ever flown in a dream before. Hmm. My dreams are so embedded in “real life” that I don’t do anything fun like flying. Maybe it’s something to do with being a bit of a control freak, haha. Ha? Yeah, I’m boring 🙂

  2. backlist says:

    I think I’ve got ahem some control issues too. I always thought I had those dreams when I was being unusually control freaky…

  3. Will says:

    I can’t remember ever having a dream in which I flew on my own mobility. I’ve had a dream where I was flying in a plane, though…then it crashed, and we were dead. Hm.

  4. bipolarlawyercook says:

    I’ve never had a flying dream, but in my dreams I can always run like the wind.

  5. backlist says:

    oooh fast running or even piloting. those aren’t bad dreams despite their endings (will!)

  6. jigsawanalogy says:

    i go through phases of having lots of flying dreams. sometimes, it’s like swimming through the air. more often, it’s like, i think i’m walking, but then i realize i’m walking several feet above the ground, and then i realize the floating thing just requires a bit of willpower… hard to describe.

    my favorite flying dream of all time? i was in a house, and then someone bad was trying to get me, and i was trying to escape, but got trapped in a room. found myself up near the ceiling, with the bad person below, trying to grab me. and i said to myself, “this MUST be a dream. i can’t fly in real life!”

Leave a Reply

