So tired.

Posted: 12 June 2008 in bitter old woman, observations

I’m not sure what it is about today.  My eyes keep falling shut.  Driving home today to walk the dog, I yelled at myself. “Hey!” I shouted.  “You stay awake!”  I learned something new while doing this, I don’t like shouting in general, but I particularly don’t like it when I shout at myself.  The drive reminded me of the long trips to and from  school when I was 19 and could be relied on to crash into sleep after an hour of driving, whether or not I was behind the wheel.  This tendency resulted in some terrifying feats of luck.  Once I pulled over in heavy fog to eat some chocolate in an effort to sugarfy myself into wakefulness, only to find when the fog cleared seconds later that my front tires were on the edge of a cliff.  I was alone, looking into nothingness and terrified into wakefulness.

Today, nothing is working.  Things I have tried:
one half peanut butter sandwich
three bottles of water
one coke
one nap in the backseat of the car (at 98 and rising, determined it was too hot)
one nap on office floor (20 minutes later I woke up wondering where I was)
one narrowly averted crash of forehead into keyboard
four walks around the building (in heat and ac)
one snickers bar
internet meandering times 7
one set of shoulder shrugs
3 efforts to consider going home and aborted while worrying I’d fall asleep on the way
one attempt to research a presentation
one comic attempt to shout at myself
one 15 minute period spent worrying that the reason I hit a curb and blew out my tire yesterday was sleep related, determining it was not and then stretching my arms and legs.
one narcolepsy search
one piece of apple flavored gum

I am still very tired.  I’m gratified know I could go to bed as early as I want to tonight but unfortunately, I know I won’t be tired then.  Go figure.  In the meantime, shhhh.  I’m trying to sleep.

Comments
  1. rye says:

    WOW! Waking up on the edge of a cliff sounds insanely scary!! Being tired is never a fun thing. But being chronically tired? Ugh. I hope you’re feeling better today.

  2. backlist says:

    much better today. oh I was tired! see, this is why I need your Wii fit. So I can have it yell at me.

Leave a Reply

