See You on Facebook

Posted: 18 September 2008 in Charlottesville, observations, other folks, protected

Phew.  I feel like that’s the best thing to say.  I haven’t unpacked everything, but D. has finally moved in, the dog has stopped insisting that I put him in the car, I’ve learned a few neighbor’s names.  Better still, I know how to get to work on time and how to be late, which grocery stores have the scary clerks and which gas stations have cheap(er) gas.  Best?  I still love my new job and really like living in Charlottesville.  Apparently, it just took two months for me to relax enough to say so.

Facebook is a funny thing.  I’m on it, you can see me there.  Lots of other people can too, and, for the most part, I don’t mind being seen.  I have a friend who skitters away from Facebook every time it’s mentioned.  Gah! she moans, if I were on there people could…shiver…find me!  Well, yes.  People can.  They find you and they look at you.  I don’t know what they’re thinking.  Probably nice things, like, oh!  He got married!  Or, she was so friendly!  I hope they aren’t thinking things like, wow, the years didn’t treat her well.  Or, hoo boy, he could lay off those doughnuts!  For myself, I don’t tack a lot of pictures up, partly because I don’t want you thinking nasty things (yes, my thought police application has been filed and duly processed) and partly because that’s dedication I just don’t have.  You want to look at me?  Here’s a photo.  Cheese.  I can’t get around to sending my own sister email, I’m probably not going to keep up on the profile pics.

But back to the finding.  I admit to a certain degree of curiosity about people I used to know.  I have fine stalking skills (I am a librarian, after all) but, for the most part, I’m content to let people find me.  I’ve even established a friending policy: do I know you?  You’re in.  If I don’t know you, are you the spouse (without exception, the wife) of a person I do know and am friends with?  You’re in.  I’m married to a jealous person, I understand it.  It gets murky when I don’t remember you.  Should I friend you just because we went to high school together and graduated in the same year?  I usually default to probably, given that I have a notoriously foggy memory when it comes to high school.  This doesn’t prevent a sort of nervous surprise when I get friend requests from people I used to know.  I mean, there’s a reason we aren’t exchanging pithy emails and reminiscing about the old days.

Do you have skeletons?  If you’re on Facebook, they’ll find you. Mine have.
Protected, to save your eyes.

Comments
  1. Tif says:

    Haha…Facebook has brought those skeletons forward! Sometimes I catch myself thinking about past mishaps and I have to shake my head. The Drama!

    See, I am wincing now. Change topic! 🙂

  2. linaria says:

    [late, as usual;]

    You know I am opening a new tab AS I WRITE THIS to look for you on Facebook? Well, maybe. Probably. Not really.

    Among internet geeks, I waited quite a while to get a Facebook account. It seemed silly and I still think it is. But I’m glad it helped my long-lost pen pal from when I was 15 find me, and so I guess it’s worth something. Maybe. Probably. Eh, not really.

  3. backlist says:

    admit it, we’re getting closer and closer to peeping toms 😉

Leave a Reply

