Test Tube Grown-ups

Posted: 8 December 2008 in other folks, you've got to be kidding

I’m not sure whether to be thrilled or dismayed at this article about unorthodox ways to earn money.  After all, who am I to begrudge a mother Christmas presents or a profit-making way to ditch that old wedding band?  But of all the ways mentioned in the article, I think the one I take the most issue with is the sell-your-body-to-science method.  Not because I don’t think you should be able to pimp yourself out.  Go ahead.  But because the medicines and therapies they are testing might not work the same on you, oh Lab Rat, as they do on me, Pristine Vessel of Health (ha).  Seriously though, if Paul has taken a dozen different types of pills this year that means he only had a month, or less, to get each one out of his system before trying the next one.  Can we be sure that Paul didn’t subtly affect the results of each medication simply by having a buildup?  Could it be that the pill you take to prevent baldness doesn’t really do anything unless it’s paired with a pill for the common cold?  It worked on Paul!

I’m sure I don’t have the whole picture, but it reminds of the year in grad school when I was so poor I considered donating eggs.  Considered it until the nurse told me about all the potentially dangerous consequences for the under 25 set (and everyone else, for that matter).  I’m not sure the paycheck is worth the potential physical cost.  On the other hand, if Paul doesn’t do it, who will?

Comments
  1. rye says:

    You know, I never thought about it that way … you have a good point, here. Hm.

  2. Meagan Call says:

    The hair one was kind of nice though… reminds me of a story I had to read in middle school. There is a very poor couple who each want to buy each other something nice for Christmas. The wife, who takes pride in her beautiful hair, sells her hair to buy her husband a chain for his prized watch. Naturally the husband sells his pocket watch to buy his wife a pretty comb.

    I don’t remember particularly liking the story, but it’s a nice sentiment I guess.

Leave a Reply

