A Better Eve

Posted: 24 December 2008 in other folks

We’re cozy at home this Christmas Eve.  It’s nice not to be in a hotel and nicer still to have a clean house to come back to tomorrow night.  I won’t lie, spending time with my in-laws can be a harrowing experience.  But usually they don’t get me at my best: I’ve been in a hotel, I’m worried about the dog, I miss my home.  This time, they’ll get me after a drive down (and I love to drive), we’ll have the dog with us, and we get to leave at the end of the day.  I can’t ask for a better situation.

In a surprise twist, my sister-in-law asked us to bring a pie for supper.  We were more than happy to, especially since I wanted to try the pumpkin cream cheese pie again.  Then she asked us to buy a turkey breast to bring down.  Well, we thought, funny she doesn’t want it earlier, but sure, why not?  As soon as we agreed, she asked if we could cook it too.  Not a big deal but for the fact that we live three hours away.  So, my house smells amazing and I won’t have a single plate to wash.  Thanks Ann!

On the other hand, if I die of food poisoning after said three hour drive, your points will be rendered void.  Sorry.

Leave a Reply

