Writing Out the Crazy

Posted: 7 March 2009 in Charlottesville, observations, other folks, therapy, writing

Maybe my hopes were too high when I signed up for a travel writing class.  I had some secret goals (make new friends, stop being crazy) and some not so secret goals (write).  Apparently I didn’t know or had forgotten that adults taking writing classes are at best quirky and at worst pretentious assholes.  Unfortunately, my class was not split so evenly down the middle.

Points for not automatically assuming I’m one of the pretentious assholes.

I don’t know what it is.  Perhaps it’s a way to distinguish oneself.  Look at me, I’m incredibly creative, I’ve been all these places and I’m really into this writing class.  So much more into it than you.  It’s the “than you” I take issue with.  It doesn’t seem to be enough to just be the most shining light in the class.  Some of these folks need to be the loudest, the funniest, the most well-traveled, and deliver the most fantastic turn of phrase.  The most polite description I can think of (other than pretentious assholes) is teacher’s pets.

As the kid who always did well enough to escape notice but little to stand out, I wish these grown up children would give up already.  I did accomplish one goal: to write.  I enjoyed that bit.  I did not make friends.

As a side note, I also did not get less crazy. When the writing prompt is to write about some place you’ve been and you end up writing about an African morgue and then your next three pieces are about burning trash heaps, dead babies and motorcycle accidents, you begin to wonder if writing is enough to remedy the crazy inheritance from your former job.

I’ve got two classes left but I’m not going back.  On the other hand, I have a medicinal herbs class beginning this week and I’m thrilled about that.

Comments
  1. Dylan says:

    Writing classes frequently have an atmosphere more similar to pretentious assholes anonymous meetings than they do to quirky cathartic writing. In college, less so, because people think it’s an easy A, but as much as I see it happen in advanced writing courses, I can’t imagine the bunch in a completely elective “hobby” writing course. Yikes!

    Hopefully the medicinal herbs class will be more up your alley. Maybe you’ll even find a remedy for the ills of your crazy former job… or a potion to curse those assholes!

Leave a Reply

