The Devil’s Fruit

Posted: 30 July 2009 in observations
Tags: ,

Spoiled, stinking, garbage in the sun, rotting.

Yes, cantaloupe is in season.  I’m sure there’s some smell you can’t stand.  Something that can send your stomach into convulsions with just a whiff.  Maybe you haven’t smelled it yet, but you will.  For me, it’s the cantaloupe.

It’s a serious problem.  I happen to like the taste of cantaloupe and I like the way the inside of cantaloupe smells but I might. die. if you bring a whole cantaloupe within 10 feet of me.  Die.  Choking on my own vomit.

Unfortunately for me, cantaloupe is all the rage at the CSA and we’ve been bringing home one a week.  They are getting gradually larger and I’m beginning to fear that soon we’ll be bringing home two a week.  D has cut some up (thus saving herself from a harrowing life as a spinster) and I cut some up this week.   You’d think it would be impossible to wade through the stench in order to chop up the fruit but once I can crack the rind, I can once again breathe in pure, sweet melony air.  Going into grocery stores lately has become an exercise in self-discipline.  Will I be able to hold my breath long enough to get from the parking lot, through the door, and safely down an aisle?  Get out of my way, cart man, lest I throw up on your shoes!

Comments
  1. Linsey says:

    I don’t think I’ve ever noticed the scent of a cantaloupe’s rind. I will do some research.

  2. Patience says:

    I have noticed cantaloupe’s tendency to smell like garbage the minute you take it out of the store.

  3. meloukhia says:

    Pray that your CSA doesn’t decide to start growing durian!

  4. backlist says:

    I’m afraid we might have a ginko tree nearby. That is ten times worse.

Leave a Reply

