In a chair, in the air!

Posted: 4 January 2010 in observations
Tags: ,

I’m not sure patience is one of my strong points.  In fact, if you could just take a second RIGHT NOW and tell me if you think it is, I’d appreciate it.  I’m waiting.  Seriously.  Do I have to do everything myself? Right then, patience.  We’ll just cross that off the list.

This translates in a lot of ways, but mostly it means I try to do everything the fastest way possible.  This route is better than that, this cooks faster than that, and so forth.  I’m always evaluating to see if someone knows a better way so that I can do things faster.  I’m also looking at the things I have to see if they are working well (you know what I mean – FAST) enough.

I have a dilemma with our new flat-screen tv.  I’m not sure what’s happening from the time I hit the on button to the time the screen lights up but by the time it does, I’m an old lady.  Changing the channel?  Come on, I’ve invented self-painting rooms by now.  You’re killing me. But I realize, this is a ridiculous expectation.  In fact, this clip will demonstrate that perfectly:

Right, I’ll quietly settle down now.

Comments
  1. Sarah says:

    I’m with you. I’ve been told I have the attention span of a gnat, I’m so patient…look! is that a butterfly over there?

  2. Patience says:

    That clip is one of my favorites. How quickly we become used to instant gratification. I get impatient because it takes a whole fifteen seconds to soften butter in the microwave and sometimes it isn’t soft enough and I may have to monkey around for another five to ten seconds. It seems like an interminable amount of time, which is ridiculous, of course.

Leave a Reply

