A Real Page-turner

Posted: 10 May 2011 in observations
Tags: ,

I love love love this post by someone who does the same things I do.  Just yesterday, in fact, I walked home two and a half miles reading the whole way.  Although sometimes I have a proper book with pages and all, I find that the glare of the sun on the pages and the heft of the book make it so that reading while walking longer distances isn’t as comfortable.  A block?  No problem.  Any further makes my head hurt.  So yesterday, as I do often, I walked-read on a Kindle and angels sang a chorus the whole way home.

Walking while reading provides a certain amount of danger.  Negotiating curbs, rogue bicycles, malicious bees, traffic.  If you enjoy a little spice to your day, I suggest you try reading while walking from a flat area up a barely noticeable incline. A page-turner walk is even more fraught with peril than walking with a Kindle. Turning the page requires extra attention to the pavement and surroundings and a physical effort that could set you off kilter.  Any veering I’ve done while reading has been at the prodding of a paper page turned too quickly.

That said, reading while walking (in any format) means I’m missing out on what’s going on in the world around me.  Since I love seeing unusual cars (or people) pass, looking at balcony gardens or watching the bridge construction progress, I don’t read every day.  Walking is as much a meditation as it is time away from my child, my work, my life that I can devote to a few chapters of a particularly good read. Like Deborah Bryan says, it has to be a really good book to claim the cracks in my schedule.

Comments
  1. Beth says:

    I’m going to assume that audio books just wouldn’t be the same?

  2. I like the way you’ve expressed this. There is a little bit of an element of danger intrinsic in simultaneously reading and walking–certainly much more than when sitting on the couch! Reading feels more multidimensional to me for that.

    I also like the way you summed up the “which book” question . . . much more eloquent than my words! I have so little time left to read these days, it’s got to be for something that really, really moves me, and pretty fast.

    Thank you so much!

    • meridith says:

      The danger makes the book that much more memorable! I absolutely will remember the character that was introduced at the same time a little girl ran up to sell me lemonade!

  3. Beth says:

    I haven’t tried audio books or a kindle or something like it. I used to read all the time, now it’s more sporadic. But so far I’m sticking to the good old paper kind.

    I recently read the Hunger Games trilogy and really enjoyed it. I tried Game of Thrones but it was dense and I didn’t have time to get into it and finish it before I had to return it to the library.

    • meridith says:

      Loved the Hunger Games series but haven’t read anything else like it to recommend. right now I’m reading Feed which is Zombies, yes, but really a very good story otherwise.

  4. Patience says:

    I am sometimes guilty of readwalking. Any time I see someone walking and reading, I feel like the person is probably someone I’d get along with.

Leave a Reply

